Style Stumper: Knee-high Chucks

Yesterday, one of my readers asked for my fashion advice. I’ll call her Ms. Librarian–because, well, she is one.

“I recently purchased these fabulous all black,  Converse high top boots that I have wanted for literally years. So how do I wear these without looking like a 12 year old? I need some hip punk rock librarian but classy girly fashion advice.”

Well, Ms. Librarian, you threw me for quite a loop. You’re right–one false move and it would be easy to look like an angsty middle-schooler with these bad boys. To that end, I would definitely recommend avoiding the following: Beetlejuice-style striped tights, flouncy miniskirts, graphic, cartoony tees, cropped hoodies, chains, neon colors, overly busy patterns and anything branded with that Twilight movie. This is what you’d call a statement shoe–it’s got balls-out attitude and will draw attention, for sure.

To that end, the only practical advice I can give you is to tone down the rest of your outfit–don’t overdo it with overly busy patterns, since they will compete with the attention-grabbiness of these shoes. I would do dark skinny jeans, a slouchy top in neutral colors (maybe with a simple stripe pattern or something),  a boyfriend blazer and a circle scarf–oh, and a satchel bag. You could also do a cute grandpa sweater  or a longer plaid shirt in lieu of the slouchy top and blazer for a weekend look. Another suggestion would be to replace the white laces with black for a more streamlined look.

Here’s something I slapped together on Polyvore.com to give you an idea. Hope this helps! And if anyone out there has other suggestions, please feel free to help a sister out. Good luck, Ms. Librarian!

(Oh, and if anyone has a style conundrum, drop me a line and I’ll try to help!)

2 Comments

Filed under Fashion, style stumper

2 responses to “Style Stumper: Knee-high Chucks

  1. Jess

    Excellent advice! Thanks for the visual too. That always helps.

  2. converse are classic and the best! and that outfit is nice that you put together.

Leave a Reply

