Cold Comforts

Only a real ice cream lover would crave a big, fat scoop of the good stuff after being drenched in a cold rain on a dark and stormy Halloween night. My friends and I tried JP Lick‘s in Davis Square, which is a local “chain” ice creamery with locations all over the Boston area. It’s known for its homemade ice cream and fun flavors, like white coffee, Wild Turkey bourbon and butter cashew, so naturally, when I saw that they had “cream stout” on tap (ha), I went for it.

JP Lick's

Anyway, it was one of those things that started out as a good idea, but sort of fell short in execution. Imagine a Bud Light vanilla ice cream float, and you’ve got a clearer picture of what I was tasting that night. I’m not one to make snap judgments (ok, who am I kidding, I do when it comes to food) but while JP Lick’s was decent, it’s nothing compared with San Francisco’s Bi-Rite Creamery or Mitchell‘s or Humphry Slocombe in terms of craftsmanship and flavor innovation. So how about it, Boston? What’s the best ice cream ya got?

I think the highlight of my experience at JP Lick’s was, sadly, not the ice cream, but some random girl who walked in wearing a huge stuffed magnet around her neck, and at each end were yellow rubber ducky things. It took me a while to figure out they were chicks. Hence, “chick magnet.” Durrrr. Maybe there was more stout in the ice cream than I thought.

What: JP Lick’s
Where: 4A College Ave., Davis Square, Somerville, 617-666-5079

Leave a comment

Filed under check, please, Food

Leave a Reply

